---
title: How to offer an Alumni discount in Thinkific with WooCommerce
description: "[Thinkific Alumini / Graduate Discounts - Boosting Sales with WooCommerce](https://www.youtube.com/embed/QmhA7lOxqDo?feature=oembed) The WooCommerce Extension for Thinkific can dynamically create a WooCommerce coupon for a user at the checkout if they have previously taken a course of yours. The use case is…"
url: "https://www.wooninja.io/documentation/how-to-offer-an-alumni-discount-in-thinkific-with-woocommerce/"
updated: "2022-03-14"
category: Thinkific / WooCommerce Extension (Version 3.0 and Below)
---

# How to offer an Alumni discount in Thinkific with WooCommerce

[Thinkific Alumini / Graduate Discounts - Boosting Sales with WooCommerce](https://www.youtube.com/embed/QmhA7lOxqDo?feature=oembed)

The WooCommerce Extension for Thinkific can dynamically create a WooCommerce coupon for a user at the checkout if they have previously taken a course of yours. The use case is therefore you want to offer a user a discount on this purchase, based on them buying or being enrolled in a given course previously.

To get started, open a WooCommerce product:

- Enable the Alumini Discount
- Choose the courses that a user must have been previously enrolled in to qualify
- Choose a percentage type
- Choose the discount amount

Click **Save** or **Publish**

In the following example, a customer that buys this WooCommerce product will:

- Be enrolled for 60 days in the *Accounting Course*
- Be given a 15% discount if they had previously been enrolled in the *Corporate Onboarding Course*

![thinkific alumi discounts](https://www.wooninja.io/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/thinkific-alumi-discounts-1600x733.png)

**Important Notes**

- This system generates a coupon in WooCommerce, not Thinkific and hence the coupon can only be used in WooCommerce.
- The user must be logged in to avail of a discount. You should encourage users to log in, and not use the guest checkout, if you intend to use this feature.
- Coupons are single use and tied to the specific user so they cannot be shared or used multiple times.
- Coupons, if not used, will be deleted after 48 hours.
